Sunday, October 21, 2012

You Know it was Cheap...


These were sold side by side at the store, but you can see they are probably not both licenced by Maywood Studio!  I am pretty sure, though, that they were both less than $5/yd.  Rite Aid stopped carrying fabric shortly after I bought these - maybe this dodgy supplier was the reason! The fabric quality is ok, with no obvious flaws, so I am happy to have them.

I have been working out the yardage I will need to complete the RVQG BOM.  I bought one yard of the stars, and only half a yard of the moons, and both have already been cut into for another project.  The blocks will all finish at 12" square, and many are applique so I will need the whole square.  But I have worked out that if I piece some of the backgrounds in quarters, there will be enough.  And actually, that will probably be more interesting too!

In any case, I intend to do the whole thing from my stash.  I have plenty of batiks that I've bought over the years "just because," so this is my chance to use them!

7 comments:

  1. i'm sure you will make it all fit together and i love that pumpkin block too.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Thanks, Katherine. I appreciate your confidence!

      Delete
  2. lucky you getting such a bargain, I tend to buy my parchwork fabrics from the market, I am sure they are copies as they are £4.50 a yard but as a beginner I cannot justify the very expensive ones.

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Well, that was over 10 years ago. It sounds like you have found a good deal too!

      Delete
    2. It's pretty amazing. I wouldn't have thought to check. I will in future. Nice fabric though.

      Delete
    3. I never saw it either, until it just caught my eye while I was measuring it. :)

      Delete
  3. You know I've even found dodgy fabric at a major supplier here - Spotlight, which is one of the largest craft chains in Australia. I look at a lot of japanese fabric and I see a lot of "kawaii" designs coming into Spotlight which are slightly off in colour or print compared to the original Japanese prints, but obviously supposed to be almost the same. Of course... it doesn't stop me buying it because they're usually still cute but so much cheaper than importing from Japan :S

    ReplyDelete

Thank you for your comment! I love to talk with my readers, and I will reply to every comment, either directly via email or, if you are a "no-reply" commenter, right here under your comment.

Google, however, does not always send me a notification if you have a non-Gmail address, or, if you have strong privacy settings on Google+. So if I missed you, I'm sorry, it wasn't my intention!

Happy stitching!

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...